Contact Us

Mayor's Office

900 E. Broad St., Suite 201
Richmond, VA
23219 USA
Phone: 804-646-7970
Fax: 804-646-7987


Staff Contact for Commission

Osita Iroegbu

Senior Policy Advisor for Community Engagement

(804) 646-7970

Soon, community members will be able to submit input to the Commission using this web page. Check back later for details. 

History and Culture Commission

Mayor Stoney established Richmond’s History and Culture Commission, comprised of 13 members of various areas of expertise and backgrounds, with the purpose of providing the Mayor, his staff, and the Department of Planning and Development Review with information and advice concerning matters of historical and cultural significance.

The Commission serves as an advisory body, meeting at least once every two months to monitor, evaluate, and provide advice and recommendations about issues of historical and cultural import.

This includes, but is not limited to, the discussion of the preservation of significant elements of Richmond’s history and culture and the placement of interpretive, educational signage in and around relevant areas.

Lastly, the Commission has been charged with facilitating public awareness of the city’s history, culture, and undertakings involving historical and cultural sites.

The Commission is staffed by the Mayor’s Senior Policy Advisor for Community Engagement, Inclusion, and Equity Osita Iroegbu. The nine voting members are as follow:

  • Jamie O. Bosket, President of the Virginia Museum of History and Culture
  • Melanie Buffington, Associate Professor in the Art Education Department at Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Free Egunfemi, Independent Historical Strategist and founder of Untold RVA
  • Julian Hayter, Historian and Assistant Professor of Leadership Studies, University of Richmond
  • Maurice Henderson, NASA
  • Ben Ragsdale, Civil Rights advocate
  • William “Bill” Martin, Director of the Valentine Museum
  • Ryan Rinn, Executive Director for Storefront Community Design
  • Paula Saylor-Robinson, Director of Audience Development and Outreach, Virginia Museum of Fine Art

Non-voting members include Richmond City Council President Dr. Cynthia Newbille, Kimberly Chen, principal planner in the Department of Planning and Development Review, and two youth members.

For ongoing Commission updates, including meeting minutes and materials, check here. The most recent meeting content will be available in a downloadable format. 

Click here to view the minutes from the June 27 meeting of the Commission.

Click here to view the minutes from the July 2 meeting of the Commission.

Click here to view the minutes from the July 25 meeting of the Commission.

October 1 Meeting Materials: