Contact Us
Office Hours: 
Monday - Friday 
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM 
Phone: (804) 646-5956 
Fax: (804) 646-7848 
2134 West Laburnum Avenue 
Richmond, Virginia 23227 
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 61037 
Richmond, Virginia 23261

Electoral Board

There will be a meeting of the Richmond City Electoral Board on Tuesday July 23rd, 2024 at 10 a.m.

The meeting will take place at the Office of Elections in the 2nd Floor conference room. According to Code Section 2.2-3708.2 meetings of public bodies are now required to be held in person.

Click here to view the agenda.

If you would like to address a certain topic, please email beforehand to be added to public commentary (last day to be added to public commentary is Monday, July 22nd at 12:00 p.m.).

John Ambrose, Board Vice Chair
Portrait of C. Starlet Stevens, Board Chair Portrait of Joyce K. Smith, Board Secretary

John N. Ambrose, Board Chair    

    C. Starlet Stevens, Board Vice Chair     

Joyce K. Smith, Board Secretary    

About Us

The responsibilities of the Electoral Board include overseeing the administration of every election; appointing the General Registrar/Director of Elections; approving the appointment of poll workers; organizing election procedures and policies; overseeing the printing of ballots for each election; overseeing the canvass and the certifying of results after each election.

Two members of the electoral board represent the political party that received the highest number of votes in the last preceding gubernatorial election. The third member of the electoral board represents the party that received the next highest number of votes. Electoral board representation regularly changes as the terms of incumbent members expire and new appointments are made, or when an interim appointment is necessary for an unexpired term.

Electoral board members serve three-year terms and are appointed to staggered terms, one to expire at midnight on the last day of December each year. Every year, one member of the electoral board is appointed (or re-appointed) for a three-year term beginning on January 1 of the following year. Three years after the appointment, the term expires at midnight on the last day of December. Members can serve an unlimited number of terms.

The electoral board is a public body under FOIA. Therefore, all electoral board meetings are open to the public. The only exception is to hold a “closed” meeting, the circumstances for which must be explicitly stated.

Board Member Position Party Start/End Date
John N. Ambrose Chair Republican 1/1/2023 – 12/31/2025
C. Starlet Stevens Vice Chair Republican 1/1/2022 – 12/31/2024
Joyce K. Smith Secretary Democratic 3/1/2018 – 12/31/2026

Meeting Minutes