Contact Us

900 E. Broad Street, 5th Floor, Suite 501

Richmond, VA
23219 USA

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(Offices Closed on City Holidays)

Telephone:   (804) 646-5823

Fax:              (804) 646-6035

Human Services Cabinet

Purpose

The overarching goal is to foster an alignment of strategies and resources among myriad entities serving the community. The Human Services Cabinet for the city of Richmond is comprised of the local subject matter experts on food, shelter, public safety, health, behavioral health, employment, transportation, older adults, multicultural population, persons with sensory and physical disabilities, education, early childhood, volunteers, nonprofit organizations, and mechanisms that can leverage donations of time, money and the human need to connect.  

It is critical that accurate information is used when decisions are made regarding strategies to mobilize resources and people.

Each Cabinet Subject Matter Expert is considered the authoritative voice in Richmond on this topic.
 

Questions?

Questions from the community to the Human Services Cabinet should be directed to the DCAO for Human Services.  The DCAO is the point person for the Cabinet. The Human Services Subject Matter Experts have their own organizations and crisis lines, and can be contacted for the specific questions from citizens. This Cabinet is a collaborative of city and community backbone organizations working on specific issues about how to move the community forward and solve and longstanding challenges.

Membership

Topic Expert Organization Description/Webinar
Behavioral Health

John Lindstrom

lindstromj@rbha.org

Richmond Behavioral Health Authority

Richmond Behavioral Health Authority:  Who We Are, What We Do, and Why?

Webinar link

Community Connections

Mollie Reinhart

mollie@befriendmovement.org

Befriend Movement  
Early Community Connections

Rich Shultz

rich.shultz@smartbeginningsrva.org

Smart Beginnings

State of Early Childhood in the Richmond Region

https://youtu.be/ZUQyxIzVOb8

Food

Doug Pick

dpick@feedmore.org

Feed More  
Help1RVA

Jana Smith

smithjm@ymcarichmond.org

YMCA of Greater Richmond  
Homelessness/Housing Crisis

Kelly King Horne

Kkhorne@homewardva.org

Homeward  
Income/Workforce

Valaryee Mitchell

Valaryee.Mitchell@richmondgov.com

OCWB  
Multicultural Community

Karla Almendarez-Ramos

Karla.Almendarez-Ramos@richmondgov.com

Office of Multicultural Affairs

Serving Immigrant Communities in the City of Richmond

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CggixNFQcPw&t=20s

 

Older Adults

Thelma Watkins

twatkins@youraaa.org

Senior Connections

Older Adults Services and Supports in the City of Richmond

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=we_IoP7sG4Q&t=4s

Persons with Sensory and Physical Disabilities

Gerry O'Neill

oneillg@ril-va.org

Resources for Independent Living

The Disability Rights Movement:  Pat, Present, Future

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6212alVW34

Public Health

Dr. Danny Avula

danny.avula@vdh.virginia.gov

Richmond City Health District

Richmond City Health District's Role in Establishing Health Equity

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APzRmwQsgSs&t=1s

Public Safety

Captain Daniel Minton

Daniel.Minton@richmondgov.com

Richmond Police Department  
Education

Shadae Harris

sharris1@rvaschools.net

Richmond Public Schools  
The Giving Wall

Becky Crump

becky@mindfulmornings.org

The Giving Wall  
Transportation

Damon Jiggetts

djiggetts@redwagon.com/ djiggetts@peterpaulrva.org

Red Wagon Transportation/Peter Paul Development Center  
Volunteers

Vanessa Diamond

vdiamond@cfrichmond.org

HandsOn Greater Richmond